Hortense Calisher

Infobox Writer


imagesize = 150px
name = Hortense Calisher
caption =
pseudonym = Jack Fenno
birthdate = birth date and age|1911|12|20
birthplace = New York City, New York, United States
deathdate =
deathplace =
occupation = Novelist
nationality = American
period = 1951 - present
genre =
subject =
movement =
influences =
influenced =


website = http://members.authorsguild.net/hcalisher/

Hortense Calisher (born December 20, 1911 in New York City, NY) is an American writer of fiction.

Biography

A graduate of Hunter College High School (1928) and Barnard College (1932), Calisher was the daughter of a young German immigrant and an older father from a Southern family she described as "volcanic to meditative to fruitfully dull, and bound to produce someone interested in character, society, and time" [Calisher, Hortense. "Tattoo for a Slave". Orlando: Harcourt, 2004.] .

Writing style

Calisher involves her closely investigated, penetrating characters in complicated plotlines that unfold with shocks and surprises in allusive, nuanced language with a distinctively elegiac voice, sometimes compared with Eudora Welty, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, and Henry James. Critics generally consider Calisher a type of neo-realist and often both condemn and praise for her extensive explorations of characters and their social worlds. She was definitely at odds with the prevailing writing style of minimalism that characterized fiction writing in the 1970s and 1980s and that emphasized a sparse, non-romantic style with no room for expressionism or romanticism. As an anti-minimalist, Calisher is admired for her elliptical style in which more is hinted at than stated, and she is also praised as a social realist and critic in the vein of Honore Balzac and Edith Wharton.

Honors and awards

A past president of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and of PEN, the worldwide association of writers, she has been a National Book Award finalist three times and has won an O. Henry Award (for "The Night Club in the Woods") and the 1986 Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize (for "The Bobby Soxer") as well as being awarded Guggenheim Fellowships in 1952 and 1955 [ [http://www.gf.org/52fellow.html Guggenheim Memorial Foundation 1952 Fellows Page] ] . She lives in New York City.

Bibliography

Fiction

*"In the Absence of Angels" (1951)
*"False Entry" (1961)
*"Tales for the Mirror" (1962)
*"Textures of Life", (1963)
*"Extreme Magic" (1964)
*"Journey from Ellipsia" (1966)
*"The Railway Police, and The Last Trolley Ride" (1966)
*"The New Yorkers" (1970)
*"Standard Dreaming" (1972)
*"Eagle Eye" (1973)
*"Queenie" (1973)
*"The Collected Stories of Hortense Calisher" (1975)
*"On Keeping Women" (1977)
*"Mysteries of Motion" (1983)
*"Saratoga Hot" (1985)
*"The Bobby-Soxer" (1986)
*"Age" (1987)
*"Kissing Cousins: A Memory" (1988)
*"The Small Bang" (under the pseudonym of Jack Fenno) (1992)
*"In the Palace of the Movie King" (1993)
*"In the Slammer with Carol Smith" (1997)
*"The Novellas of Hortense Calisher" (1997)
*"Sunday Jews" (2003)

Non-fiction

*"Herself" (autobiography, 1972)
*"Tattoo for a Slave" (memoir, 2004)

References

External links

[http://members.authorsguild.net/hcalisher/ Hortense Calisher's website]


Wikimedia Foundation. 2010.

Look at other dictionaries:

  • Hortense Calisher — (* 20. Dezember 1911 in New York City; † 13. Januar 2009 in Manhattan, New York City) war eine US amerikanische Schriftstellerin. Biografie Nach dem Schulbesuch studierte die Tochter eines jüdischen Unternehmers am Barnard College und schloss… …   Deutsch Wikipedia

  • CALISHER, HORTENSE — (1911– ), U.S. writer. Calisher was born in New York to a family whose ancestry encompassed Jews from the American South as well as Germany. She had, she wrote in her memoir, Herself (1972), no shtetl background. Her stories and memoirs, often… …   Encyclopedia of Judaism

  • Calisher, Hortense — ▪ American writer born Dec. 20, 1911, New York, N.Y., U.S. died Jan. 13, 2009, New York       American writer of novels, novellas, and short stories, known for the elegant style and insightful rendering of characters in her often… …   Universalium

  • Hortense (given name) — Infobox Given Name Revised name = Hortense imagesize= caption= pronunciation= gender = meaning = region = French origin = related names = footnotes = Hortense is a French feminine given name that comes from Latin meaning gardener . It may refer… …   Wikipedia

  • Calisher, Hortense — (b. 1911)    American writer of short stories and novels. She was born in New York. Her numerous publications include The Rabbi s Daughter …   Dictionary of Jewish Biography

  • National Book Award for Fiction — The National Book Award for Fiction has been given since 1950, as part of the National Book Awards, which are given annually by the National Book Foundation. Of all the awards given, the Fiction award is the only one that has been given… …   Wikipedia

  • December 20 — << December 2011 >> Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa 1 2 …   Wikipedia

  • 1911 — This article is about the year 1911. For the film, see 1911 (film). For the pistol, see M1911 pistol. Millennium: 2nd millennium Centuries: 19th century – 20th century – 21st century Decades: 1880s  1890s  1900s  …   Wikipedia

  • Hunter College High School — For other uses of the acronym HCHS, see HCHS (disambiguation). Infobox Secondary school name =Hunter College High School native name = logo = motto = Mihi Cura Futuri ( The Care of the Future Depends on Me ) established =1869 address = city =71 E …   Wikipedia

  • The Best American Short Stories — yearly anthology is a part of the The Best American Series published by the Houghton Mifflin Company. Since 1915, the BASS anthology has striven to contain the best short stories by some of the best known writers in contemporary American… …   Wikipedia


Share the article and excerpts

Direct link
Do a right-click on the link above
and select “Copy Link”

We are using cookies for the best presentation of our site. Continuing to use this site, you agree with this.